Log in


E-Books, the new slamming scam - transdimentia

About E-Books, the new slamming scam

Previous Entry E-Books, the new slamming scam Apr. 28th, 2008 @ 04:36 pm Next Entry
Make sure you are vigilant with your banking information. A recent trend in scamming is to charge your credit card for an 'e-book' which conveniently doesn't come with any proof of delivery. Check your statements for charges similar to the following:

04/23/08  	CHECK CRD PURCHASE 04/22 

They like this method because if you don't watch your bank account you'll never notice it and if you do complain they can credit it back and claim 'no harm no foul'. Their website is a weak attempt to look like they actually provide a product: http://www.clearriv.com and if you call their 'support' number you always get a garbled recording of a foreigner trying to speak english.

When I asked my bank if they had matched the validation code on the back or validated my address or billing phone number, she said no. This makes me think that even though they will issue me a new card and cancel the old one, this is pointless. Someone is obviously just running through random credit numbers that are valid by a mod10 check and seeing if they can make a small charge to them or something similar. I could just as well have a new card tomorrow and have the same problem.

I think it's hilarious how banks have built in all these safety features and then rarely use them. The last 2 major online credit card processor API's I have used but collect gobs and gobs of input but both only checked that the zip code matches when all is said and done.
Leave a comment
Date:May 12th, 2008 10:36 pm (UTC)

Thank you for the scamming info...this happened to me.

I just had to report this same fraudulent charge on my credit card from Clear River LLC. The numbers and the amount were identical to your posting. Again, thanks for the info...it was very helpful when I called my credit card company. This just serves as a warning to everyone to always read your statements.
Date:June 27th, 2008 01:02 pm (UTC)


Hey! Same thing happened to me only it was my National City Check Card. I might have a lead on this company. If it is not just a randomly chosen card number - which is very easy and possible if the security information is not required - it is possible they are working through Limewire (music download website) that automatically configures your computer to share most of its information. It is possible that someone is able to hack in to your system and steal any bank info you may have on your computer. Anyone else remember downloading Limewire right before they were charged by this jerk? Just a thought.
(Leave a comment)
Top of Page Powered by LiveJournal.com